Earning the Diploma

Earning the DP Diploma

The following are the failing conditions for the IB Diploma:
  1. CAS requirements have not been met.
  2. Candidate's total points are fewer than 24.
  3. An N has been given for theory of knowledge, extended essay, or for a contributing subject.
  4. A grade E has been awarded for one or both of theory of knowledge and the extended essay.
  5. There is a grade 1 awarded in a subject/level.
  6. Grade 2 has been awarded three or more times (HL or SL).
  7. Grade 3 or below has been awarded four or more times (HL or SL).
  8. Candidate has gained fewer than 12 points on HL subjects (for candidates who register for four subjects, the three highest grades count).
  9. Candidate has gained fewer than 9 points on SL subjects (candidates who register for two SL subjects must gain at least 5 points at SL).

Earning the CP Certificate

A candidate will earn the CP Certificate if the following conditions are met.

  1. The candidate has completed the specified career-related study (PLTW).
  2. The candidate has been awarded a grade 3 or higher in at least two of the DP courses registered for the CP.
  3. The candidate has been awarded a grade of at least D for the reflective project.
  4. All personal and professional skills, service learning, and language development requirements have been met.
  5. The candidate has not received a penalty for academic misconduct.